Member Login
2018 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards-ENTRIES DUE
~ SEAOCC Members and Member SE's are Encouraged to Submit Project Entries ~
To truly reveal the"Best of the Best" of Structural Engineering Excellence in California

By celebrating excellence in our profession, current engineers will be encouraged to express new ideas; the public will become aware of the value and contribution of Structural Engineers on public safety, property protection, and business continuity as affected by the built environment; and new and prospective engineering candidates will gain excitement about the profession.

It is important to celebrate the success and achievement in fulling the many layers of SEAOC's mission.  In recognizing outstanding achievement and significant contribution to the profession, and celebrating "THE BEST OF THE BEST"; the SEAOC / SEAOCC Excellence in Structural Engineering (EiSE) Awards is an integrated, two-tiered ceremony.  Through their respective EiSE Awards programs, each Member Organization recognizes members and firms that demonstrate excellence in structural engineering practice and project work.  At the state level, the SEAOC EiSE Awards bring together a cross section of projects completed by California Structural Engineers, recognized by their local Member Organization in receiving an AWARD OF EXCELLENCE in celebration of "THE BEST OF THE BEST".

To this end, SEAOC and it's Member Organizations (SEAOCC, SEAONC, SEAOSC, and SEAOSD) announce this Call for Entries and encourage California-based members to submit eligible projects for consideration in the Annual Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards Program.  The 2018 SEAOCC EiSE Awards will be recognized as part of the SEAOCC Awards Dinner on June 12, 2018.  Projects receiving an AWARD OF EXCELLENCE will be eligible for and automatically entered in the SEAOC Awards Program with recipients honored at the 2018 SEAOC Convention.

Special Use Structures
Infrastructure Historic Preservation
Retrofit/Alteration New Construction
Projects may be entered in One (1) Category only 

Members are encouraged to submit their best work that demonstrates outstanding achievement and excellence in structural engineering project work.  Please consider projects of all scales, as well as projects both large and small.  The 2018 SEAOCC Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards entries are easy to prepare and submit as follows:
  1. Download the 2018 SEAOC/SEAOCC EiSE Awards Entry Packet for detailed information about Judging Criteria, Rules of Eligibility, Entry Instructions, Guidelines, and Entry Forms.  
  2. Include a MS Word Two-Page Project Summary and a 200 to 300-word Project Abstract describing the project and include one (1) representative Photo.
  3. Prepare an electronic-only version of the "Display Board".
  4. Complete the Entry Forms and pay the  Entry Fee of $175 per project either by check or by credit card.
  5. Submit Your Entry by Tuesday, April 24, 2018, 5:00 p.m.
  6. If you have questions, please contact Ali Sumer, 2018 SEAOCC EiSE Chair (916-440-8314) or Lori Campbell, SEAOCC Executive Secretary (916-572-3177).
Entries will be judged both on demonstrated excellence and achievement in structural engineering, including the following:  Design Creativity, Integration, Technical Innovation, Efficiency, Sustainability, Constructability, Complexity, Execution, Contribution to the Profession, Impact on the Public,, and Jurors Judgment.  Review of the entries and the selection of award winners will be made by a jury panel of professionals and judged by the membership at the SEAOCC Membership Meeting on May 8, 2018.

NEW FOR 2018 
At the SEAOC level, AWARD OF EXCELLENCE winning entries from the Member Organizations will be consolidated into three categories:  1. New Structures, 2. Existing Structures, and 3. Research, Product or Technology Innovation, Standards.  Entries will be judged on the technical and creative aspects as well as the presentation of the submittal.  The Jury will recognize the winners of each category with an AWARD OF EXCELLENCE or AWARD OF MERIT; and bestow a single PROJECT OF THE YEAR AWARD, if deemed appropriate, on one project selected from all entries.  The number of awards given will be a result of the judges' scoring.  Awards may or may not be given in each category listed below.  Projects may be entered through ONE (1) Member Organization and in ONE (1) category only. 

Please Save-the-Date for the 2018 SEAOCC Awards Dinner
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 ~ Mulvaney's B&L
Award recipients will be given the opportunity to make a presentation to members and guests.

Entry Deadline is Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Go Back